What a Weekend! OC Throwdown and Annie (Sakamoto) for St. Jude

It was quite a weekend in Orange County for CrossFit athletes and fans. The 2013 OC Throwdown opened Saturday morning at the Orange County Fairgrounds in Costa Mesa, CA. Originally a CrossFit Games style competition for local boxes, OC Throwdown has turned into a mini-Games competition where elite athletes from all over are invited and any athlete from any box or gym is welcome to qualify beforehand. My friends in fitness, Jamie Hagiya from LAX CrossFit and Rachel Gammallo from CrossFit Code 3 qualified for the Womens’ Pro division. After 2 days of 6 insane WODs (have you seen the WOD 6 chipper?!) Lindsey Valenzuela and Kenny Leverich won the womens and mens, respectively. Masters champions were Lisa Rendic (who at 41 years old looks WAY too young to be in Masters by the way 🙂 ) and Jason Friedman who WODs from his garage (proof positive anyone can CrossFit just about anywhere…and kick ass at it). If you live in the area or have an opportunity to come out to this high energy, exciting (and well planned) event, do so. For the price of admission ($5 parking, $25 for a 1 day pass/ $35 for 2 days) you are not going to get a better opportunity to be up and close to some of your favorite elite…better yet, get work done to qualify yourself for the 2014 OC Throwdown!

This is how close I was to Kris Clever and Andrea Ager…. and I showed up 10 minutes before the last WOD started today…

Andrea Ager WOD6 OC Throwdown

Kris Clever WOD 6 OC Throwdown

ANNIE SAKAMOTO- ST. JUDE EVENT

I have to be honest. I didn’t interview Annie. She is such a cool chick and she made me feel like I was hanging with one of my girls at the box, I didn’t want to interview her. So that being said, I can see why she was awarded the 2011 Spirit of the Games title. She has that warm and welcoming aloha spirit from the Islands. She is definitely a mom first, and a great one at that. She loves kids and it shows. So support her cause; buy an Annie t-shirt from Four Stone Apparel here , and half of the proceeds will go to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.

Annie Sakamoto - 1.13.12 CF Red Wolf

About boomboxnews

I drank the kool aid in September 2011. My background is in dance and CrossFit gave me a new challenge, an addiction, and I have never looked back. I love the physical challenge; I have competed in a local team comp (C.A.L.). But I love the community most of all. I am full of suck most of the time but whether you are a lifelong athlete or just a former ballet/hip hop bean counting mom in her 40s, you belong here. You will see me at my box, in your box, online (I do social media for CrossFit Irvine and Box Jump The Show).
This entry was posted in CrossFit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment